neoprotoculture.com
The Random Musings of a Random Mind

City of Heroes vs City of Villians Tribute Video

I loved this MMORPG when it first came out. Definitely one of the best in its genre, superheroes. Never really got into the whole City of Villains expansion but after finding this gem of a tribute video:

http://www.gametrailers.com/user-movie/city-of-heroes-vs-city-of/166286

I found myself craving the whole superhero MMORPG genre all over again. Maybe I’ll give DC Universe Online a go when it comes out.

This fan video has so much going for it. First of all its contains absolutely kick ass music. I Wish I Had An Angel – Nightwish, Du Hast – Rammstein, and the genuisously (yes I realise there is no such word but I like the sound of it) placed Mortal Combat theme song.As for the video itself. It features The Statesman, the paragon of the City of Heroes Universe who is obviously analogous to the Captain America and Superman archetypes.

Also a part of the video that a LOVE, even tho it only shows it for a brief moment is a flashback of the heroes fighting the Germans in World War 2. This is kinda reminiscent of a a pen and paper roleplaying game called Brave New Word that my friend Markus showed me once, where an Alpha class superbeing ended World War 2 by killing Hitler and then forced the surrender of Emperor Hirohito. Also there was a pen and paper rpg called Godlike that allowed you to fight as a superhero in World War 2.

CORRECTION: Mr Wolf has kindly corrected me it was Godlike I was referring to where the “Alpha class superbeing ended World War 2 by killing Hitler and then forced the surrender of Emperor Hirohito”. Thnks mate ;p

Anyway this video always brings a big smile to my face. So check it out and enjoy all the superpowered goodness for yourself.

One Response to “City of Heroes vs City of Villians Tribute Video”

  1. It was Godlike you dufus! Brave new world was if kennedy lived and turn the US in to a totalatarian state against super powered indiviuals!


Leave a Reply

